Question

Dynamic Objects Help

• 20 January 2024
  • 2 replies

Badge +1

Hey all,

We thought we were utilizing all of Front’s features…. until today when we learned about dynamic objects - mind blown!  Since I am not a developer, we’re seeking any tips, tricks or help articles for how to configure a dynamic variable when the Target URL doesn’t include the “text pattern.” For example, I’d like to create a dynamic variable for our Order numbers, but our Salesforce link doesn’t actually ID the order number in the URL. 

Thanks for any advice!

2 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +5

Hi Annie,

If you’re able to access the Salesforce API, then you can watch this video tutorial as an example to see how to utilize an API and Front’s dynamic objects to create links in conversations by fetching the Salesforce field that you need: https://dev.frontapp.com/docs/no-code-dynamic-object. (the tutorial uses Shopify but you can adapt it to Salesforce)

The basic idea is that you’ll identify the order ID via the dynamic object, and then make an API call to the Salesforce API to retrieve the URL for that order. This will require some amount of technical setup, but the team is thinking through ways to simplify this in the future, perhaps through integrations with popular systems like Salesforce that would have the technical stuff preconfigured for you.

Userlevel 2

Hey @annie , based on the above response, I looked into retrieving the URL from Salesforce since it looked like an interesting challenge. You are right that the Order ID/Number is not included in the salesforce URL however the Salesforce URL has the record ID which is Salesforce's unique identifier fro each record. 
There are multiple ways of retrieving this URL for use in a Dynamic Object however what I think is most straightforward is this :